The Continuing and Community Education Department began in the mid 1980's.  A perceived need for Alternative Education for those who were leaving the regular system without their grade 12 diploma resulted in the development of an adult high school credit program in the town of Renfrew.

Other needs were soon identified and other programs including upgrading and ESL were offered as night school opportunities for students under the direction of the department's first administrator, Mr. Bob Frank.

In the late 1980's, as the program began to expand across Renfrew County, Frank Wooten was hired as principal and Barkley Hawkins was hired as vice-principal. Programs were provided in Adult Credit, Workplace Literacy, Adult Basic Skills, Senior Citizens, Developmentally Challenged,  ESL and night school special interest.  There was approximately 60 full-time and part-time staff by 1990.

Barkley Hawkins became the principal in the early 1990's. Government funding changes caused several of the programs to be terminated and the staffing was cut to about 30. Full time adult credit and literacy programs were developed and included several workplace literacy programs in AECL, Haley Industries and other manufacturing companies in Arnprior.  There were programs in Renfrew, Arnprior, Eganville, Barry's Bay, Cobden, Pembroke and Petawawa.

Darlene Visneskie became principal of Continuing and Community Education in the early 2000's.  Loran Young administered the department from 2004 to 2016.  During this time, the Program for Alternative Learning (PAL) was created and provided opportunities for adolescents between the ages of 14 and 17 to complete their credit requirements in cases where their attendance at a regular high school was no longer possible.  In 2012, the department offered an after school International Language Program to elementary students in Deep River.

The Continuing and Community Education department offers programs in Adult Credit, English as a Second Language, Adult Literacy and International Language in various communities throughout Renfrew County.  Presently, the department has a staff of 40 which includes teachers, markers, administration and support staff.